Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Rajshahi clinch National Cricket League title

Thursday, November 08, 2018 - 838 hours ago

Rajshahi Division smartly clinched the National Cricket League (NCL) title with unbeaten record beating Barishal Division by six wickets in the 6th and final round Tier-1 match at the Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi on Thursday, reports UNB.

With the feat, Rajshahi Division reached a land mark of clinching their 6th national crown in the first class cricket alongside last time champions Khulna Division. 

On completion of the six-round Tier-1 league, Rajshahi Division lifted the trophy securing 34.81 points with two wins and four draws while Rangpur Division finished runners-up with 24.59 with one win and five draws.

Last-time champions Khulna Division became 3rd collecting 16.61 points with one loss, four draws and one no result while Barishal Division finished bottom in the four-team Tier-1 league with 14.61 points with two loss, three draws and one no result.    

Rajshahi Division having 160 runs in the first innings resumed the 2nd innings on Thursday morning with their overnight total of 182 for 2 in 51 overs and achieved their long-cherished title after about seven years scoring match-winner 284 for 4 in 76 overs.

Earlier, Barishal Division scored 97 runs in the first innings and made 346 runs in the 2nd innings giving a winning target of 284 runs for Rajshahi Division in the 2nd innings.    

After the departure of two openers for 103 runs, one down national coloured batsman Junaid Siddique pairing with two down captain Jahurul Islam contributed 149 runs in the 3rd wicket stand to guide the team towards victory.

Junaid Siddique, who was in batting with 65 runs, hammered a century contributing an unconquered 120 off 181 balls, featuring 17 boundaries and was adjudged the player of the match.

Overnight batsman Jahurul Islam (25) scored 108-ball 64 runs hitting five fours and three sixes.

Tanvir Islam took two wickets for 61 runs.

The other Tier-1 match between Khulna and Rangpur ended in draw on the final day at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogura.   

SI © 2017 - 2018